The Key to Success: Failure

Admit it- there’s been times where you’ve failed. Everyone has them. Even the most successful person you can envision has failed miserably and repetitively; I can guarantee you that. Without failure, what would success be worth anyway?  If you never failed, you would never experience success. It would be something that just-so-happened. Failure is the basis for what makes success worthwhile.

But the real question after failure isn’t “Why am I not better?” The most basic (and most neglected, I might add) question to ask yourself is: “Who do I want to be? When do I want to be that? How am I going to do it?” Just by asking yourself those three questions, you’re miles ahead in the game.

Over the past year, I faced reinventing my vision on how to become successful. A little over a year ago, whenever I made a mistake, it would consume my entire brain work. I would convince myself in my crazily jumbled mind that giving something a try is simply maleficent theory. When the confusing truth is, I was right.

As dissuading as that may sound, I was right. I just neglected to continue in my thinking. When you make an attempt at something, you can’t always succeed immediately. That was my strenuous conundrum: I pounded and drilled the message into my brain that I needed to be afraid to fail. When truly and honestly, failure is a necessity; you can’t succeed if you don’t fail. If you would always “succeed” immediately, it’s not success; it’s something that you just happened to do. The scattered and (occasionally) startling stepping stones to success are: failures. The hop from stone to stone on its sharp and swerving path may be difficult, but never forget what made you take your first step. Fall seven times, stand up eight.

A little background for anyone reading who is not a competitive cheerleader, tumbling is very hard on your body, especially without springs to give you power. Also, with elite skills, such as a full, it makes it 3X harder. My beautiful friend and teammate, Ashley Singleton, is a very talented tumbler (we are talking the type of talented where you are a level 9 gymnast before you are a teenager) and also is the pure definition of “mind over matter” at its finest. Fact about Ashley: She has two broken legs. Another fact about Ashley: She does a gorgeously powerful full, in an unbelievably exhausting routine, without any springs for power, with two broken legs.

What’s your excuse?

Leave a Reply

