11.13.16

My life has been significantly more full and happy this past year. The reason is NOT because I made it this entire 12 month period of time only buying Starbucks with gift cards (that is a lot of gift cards, believe me). Although this did happen and I am very pleased with myself for that reason, this year has been better than others because I have learned to love myself through God’s love for me. The criticism and disapproval that I used to feed myself have been replaced by the Lord’s comfort and reassurance since I committed my life to Christ verbally at Young Life fall weekend last year. Yes. there are still lingering thoughts of negativity in my head at times, but there always will be because we are all imperfect people. The good news is that’s why God is here: to save us from our own sin and imperfections.

Why am I rambling on about this, you ask? Because… TOMORROW MORNING I AM GETTING BAPTIZED! I couldn’t be more excited to share with the world the wonders that God has worked in my life through baptism.

Last summer, I read my favorite book in the bible: Ephesians. In Ephesians, Paul is writing about God’s saving love and the everlasting effects it has on mankind. I could especially relate to what Paul wrote because I had experienced that salvation, like many, and it has changed the course of my life forever. So, I went through the notes I took while reading and I made a giant conglomeration of my favorite pieces of scripture from Ephesians. Here is the giant conglomeration that depicts why I have chosen to get baptized in words more powerful than I could ever come up with!

 

“For by grace you have been saved, through faith, and this is not from you, it is the gift of God. But now in Christ Jesus you who were once far off have become near by the blood of Christ. So then you are no longer strangers and sojourners, but you are fellow citizens with the holy ones and members of the household of God. In Him you are also being built together into a dwelling place of God in the Spirit, so that we may no longer be infants, tossed by the waves and swept along by every wind, rather living the truth. In love we should grow in every way into him, from whom the whole body is joined and held together by every supporting ligament. May Christ dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, so that you may be filled with the fullness of God, and so that you may be renewed in the spirit of your minds and put on the new shelf, created in God’s way in righteousness and truth. Now to Him who is able to accomplish far more than we ask or imagine, by the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

