XI.XXII.MMXV

A year ago yesterday something really cool happened.  A year ago yesterday I did my say-so at fall weekend 2015 and verbally committed my life to Christ. I stood up in a chilly garage-like gym and said the following words that would change my life forever: “Hi! I am Alyssa Brooks from Mason and today I have decided to commit my life to Christ.” I had no idea what I was getting myself into. By that I mean I had no idea what a wonderful life and journey I had ahead of me. I just thought maybe it would make me happier, and help me get through days that I think I can’t get through. But man was I in for something more fun and fulfilling than I can imagine. People like Hannah Geiger and Mandy Johnson who loved on me when I first came to Young Life and began to learn about who exactly this Jesus guy was have literally helped change the course of my life forever, and now I get to pass on the favor and love on those who are just starting to get to know Jesus like me a year ago.

A little after fall weekend, I began to go to church. I never envisioned myself as a church-ey girl. As a kid I sat on the pews with my legs swinging because they couldn’t quite touch the ground, picking my fingernails asking my mom “how much longer?” every fifteen minutes. So, envisioning myself growing to be passionate about a church was difficult because I had never made a connection. One day at school, my friend Isabel Marotta told me I should come to Crossroads because it was a different kind of church, one that she thought I’d like. I agreed to come and my first Crossroads service was the Thanksgiving eve service, which took place 363 days ago. I went in with a great first impression of relatable messages and fun worship music. I had finally found a church that I looked forward to attending every week. A few weeks ago I got baptized at Crossroads; if someone would have told me a little over a year ago that I would be baptized at a church I would have laughed in their face. Now I laugh at my past self because I am not even close to the person I was, and I am so happy about that.

I have a really close friend named Tyler Evans. We are both future Miami RedHawks, we both have bettered ourselves through God this past year, and we both committed our life to Christ during the say-so a year +  a day ago. We hung out yesterday and we talked about our lives, our spiritual journey, and how we’ve changed by knowing God. And let me just say, WOW- the change in both of us is amazing. I am extremely proud of Tyler for the person he has become and how he has stayed persistent in his faith. He shows other people the love of God every day, and I couldn’t be happier that we are friends going on this journey together. From awkward middle school couple to high school BFF’s, Tyler has been there through it all.

Just one year of persistence, curiosity, and faith can change lives. Get to know God, people. Being an active Christian is fun and exciting, and I am thrilled to be able to live this fun and exciting life for the rest of eternity.

To close this blog post, I am going to share a verse that Tyler sent me yesterday that perfectly depicts what truly matters in an active relationship with God.

“So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.”

1cor 13:13

Leave a Reply

